Get your FREE copy of "The Ultimate Guide of SSL"

Download Ebook

Types of SSL Certificates

Know the Different Types of SSL Certificate

When you research about SSL certificates online, you will see that there are different types of SSL certificates with different validation levels. For example domain validation, organization validation and extended validation SSL certificates. These certificates offer the same level of encryption but the validation requirements differ. Likewise, SSL certificates also differ based on the number of domains they protect. For example, wildcard SSL certificates, multi-domain SSL certificates, etc. It is important to be familiar with the different types of SSL certificates so that you will be able to get the right type of certificate for your website. This article explains the differences between the various types of SSL certificates available in the market.

Domain Validation (DV) SSL Certificate

A Domain Validated SSL Certificate (DV SSL) comes with 256-bit encryption and it is compatible with 99.9% web and mobile browsers.

Organization Validation (OV) SSL Certificate

An Organization Validation SSL certificate is a high assurance SSL certificate used to validate a company/business/organization.

Extended Validation (EV) SSL Certificate

Extended Validation SSL Certificates offer a top-notch level of safety and security that ultimately enhances customer confidence.

Wildcard SSL Certificate

A Wildcard SSL Certificate is designed to secure a domain name along with an unlimited number of sub-domains, which means a user can protect multiple sub-domains under a single certificate.

Multi-Domain (SAN) SSL Certificate

Multi-domain (SAN) is a built-in feature that comes with an SSL certificate. This lets users secure multiple domains under a single certificate.
multi-domain wildcard ssl

Multi-Domain Wildcard SSL Certificate

A Multi-Domain Wildcard SSL Certificate is fabricated with combined features of both wildcard and multi-domain SSL certificates.

UCC SSL Certificate

UCC stands for Unified Communication Certificate. UCC SSL Certificates are designed to protect multiple fully qualified domain names (FQDN) under single SSL management.

Code Signing Certificate

A Code Signing Certificate is a digital signature technology, which allows authorized software publishers to sign their executable scripts, code, and content to authenticate their identification over the Internet.

EV Code Signing Certificate

An Extended Validation (EV) Code Signing certificate is designed for developers and publishers to secure their software and web application codes, contents, scripts, and other digital objects from unwanted third party malware attacks.
Disclosure: AboutSSL appreciates your continuous support. It helps us tremendously to keep moving in the competitive SSL industry. Here most of the links which direct you to buy any SSL/TLS related service or products earns us a certain percentage of referral commission. Learn More